25books

STEPHEN GILL /// NIGHT PROCESSION         de | en

A crazy trip into the undergrowth of Swedish forests!

Stephen Gill moved from London to rural South Sweden in 2014. And of course, like in London, he wanted to take pictures of his new, completely different surroundings. But how? South Sweden is not Hackney.

Stephen Gill needed a new, a different approach, and he found it. On long walks through the woods, he met only few forest dwellers, but the traces of their nightly activities were obvious: footprints, gnawed branches, eggshells, clusters of feathers ...

To make this nightlife visible, the photographer equipped cameras with motion detectors and connected them with an infrared flash. While Gill slept at home, deers, wild boars, rats, birds and snakes made self-portraits in the dark forest.

Technology, anticipation and coincidence have produced images that no human could have ever seen, and which say so much about the mystery of vegetation and life on earth.

I don't have more praise available. NIGHT PROCESSION is simply a great photo book.
 
Nobody 2017 /// Cloth bound hardback /// 160 Pages /// 86 colour plates /// 216 mm x 270 mm /// Book contains inserted 16 page saddle stitched booklet with essay by Karl Ove Knausgård
 
€56.00
ADD TO BASKET
Bestellung

<<_1_2_3_4_5_>>
 
   
suche starten
fotografie design kunst architektur pop
0

25books

STEPHEN GILL /// NIGHT PROCESSION         de | en

Ein irrer Trip ins Unterholz schwedischer Wälder!

Stepehen Gill ist 2014 von London umgezogen ins ländliche Süd-Schweden. Und wie in London wollte er natürlich Bilder machen von seiner neuen, ganz anderen Umgebung. Aber wie? Süd-Schweden ist nicht Hackney.

Stephen Gill brauchte eine neue, eine andere Herangehenswweise, und er fand sie. Auf langen Wegen durch die Wälder begegnete er nur wenigen Waldbewohnern, die Spuren ihrer nächtlichen Aktivitäten waren aber unübersehbar: Fußspuren, angeknabberte Äste, Eierschalen, Federn ...

Um dieses Nachtleben sichtbar zu machen, stattete der Fotograf Kameras mit Bewegungsmeldern aus und verband sie mit einem Infrarot-Blitz. Während Gill zu hause schlief, machten Rehe, Wildschweine, Ratten, Vögel und Schlangen Selbstportraits im dunklen Wald.

Technik, Antizipation und Zufall haben Bilder hervorgebracht, die so nie ein Mensch hätte sehen können und die dabei so viel sagen über das Mysterium der Vegetation und des Lebens auf der Erde.

Mehr Lob habe ich nicht drauf. NIGHT PROCESSION ist einfach ein grandioses Fotobuch.
 
Nobody 2017 /// Cloth bound hardback /// 160 Pages /// 86 colour plates /// 216 mm x 270 mm /// Book contains inserted 16 page saddle stitched booklet with essay by Karl Ove Knausgård
 
€56.00
BESTELLUNG
Bestellung

<<_1_2_3_4_5_>>
 
   
suche starten
fotografie design kunst architektur pop
0